How to Deactivate an Account as an Admin
This article describes how to deactivate an account as an admin.
Why would an admin want to deactivate an account?
Accounts are often deactivated when a learner leaves the organization or will no longer be taking courses for another reason.
What happens when an account is deactivated?
When an admin deactivates an account for a learner, Sponsor, Manager, or other role, the user will no longer be able to log in to the platform. Additionally, any analytics recorded for the user (e.g. completion for a particular course) will no longer be included in analytics dashboards and reports, including for courses they previously were enrolled in. The user is still tracked, however, for licensing purposes.
Note: It is not possible to delete an account completely, as the account must remain in the system for licensing purposes. Instead, the account is deactivated.
How to deactivate an account
- Click on the admin tools icon on the top right of any page.
- On the left panel, click Members.
- Locate and click on the account you would like to deactivate. Tip: for faster navigating, use the search bar, status filter, and/or sort any columns in the page.
- On the user’s Profile page, locate the Active configuration and unselect the checkbox. This indicates that the account is no longer active.
- Click Save at the bottom of the page. The user has now been deactivated and will no longer be able to log in.